And I think studying the episodes alongside the novels is a good plan! Light novels for an intermediate learner.
Then you’ll be show new words and grammar. 1.キッチン (Kitchen) by Yoshimoto Banana

The first book in the series, Genki I, moved too fast for an absolute beginner of Japanese. Even if that happens, though, we don’t know what kind of region-locking/DRM will be in place.

I used this book to break into reading, and it worked well. So that, today we’ve compiled a list Top 100 best Japanese books from beginners to advanced to solve this exact problem. Best User-Friendly Book: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese. I divided and parsed every syllable of the N4 episodes on Audacity and it did wonders for …