Tips To Stay Safe On The Internet And Prevent Hacking, How to configure and Install kdump (crashkernel) in RHEL/CentOS 7, Step by step guide to implement/modify quota (soft and hard limit) for user, add/modify grace period and more in Linux with examples, How to fix "NoValidHost: No valid host was found. The “df” command displays the information of device name, total blocks, total disk space, used disk space, available disk space and mount points on a file system.

Linux has a few built-in utilities that help provide that information. Spent over an hour reading websites trying to figure out 1 of the many commands you have here….. I am a newbie to Linux.

Bad sectors present on the hard drive: Bad blocks on the hard drive could cause drive corruption. Great job.... keep posting this kind useful information. If we are adding physical disk it will show as /dev/sda based of the disk type. The df command in Linux is probably one of the most commonly used. In this tutorial, learn how to use the df command to check disk space in Linux and the du command to display file system disk space usage. Using '--help‘ switch will display a list of available option that is used with df command. The material in this site cannot be republished either online or offline, without our permission. To learn more about the inxi command check out this post: It is very easy to use. The "-x" option prints extra available information. Copyright © 2020 Wondershare. It’s very simple in both usage and reporting.

Example of what I mean: Achtually, if you want to be super correct df -h shows usage in Gibibytes, df -H shows Gigabytes. So my question is that do we have an overriding concept when it comes to flags as I was confused that why in it showed no such file error with -th?