Event Delegation in Javascript | UI/Frontend Interview Question - Duration: 27:45. When you click the button in the following HTML: On how many elements a click event gets triggered?
In this function, we first create a loop, and we add an event listener to each element that matches our wrapper selector (so it can apply to more than one wrapper selector). The event delegation is a useful pattern because you can listen for events on multiple elements using one event handler. You can have direct access to me through: I'm a passionate software developer, tech writer and coach. 7 Simple but Tricky JavaScript Interview Questions, A Simple Explanation of JavaScript Closures, 5 Interesting Uses of JavaScript Destructuring, 5 Best Practices to Write Quality Arrow Functions, The event occurs on the target (the target phase). I'm excited to start my coaching program to help you advance your JavaScript knowledge. Hey, got Twitch? In particular the .on() method.

Adding Event Handlers on Dynamically Created Elements with Vanilla Javascript. JavaScript event delegation is a simple technique by which you add a single event handler to a parent element in order to avoid having to add event … Download my free JavaScript Beginner's Handbook, and check out my premium React/Vue/Svelte/Node/Next.js courses.

I often use listening to all clicks in the document as an example, but it can be any element on the page.